2021 Awards

Nominations are now being accepted!

Distinguished Service Award
Community Service Award
COPIC Humanitarian Award
Outstanding Young Physician Award
Richard P. Holm, MD, Media Award
Young at Heart Award

Click here to submit your nomination.

Each year, physicians and supporters are recognized for their contributions to health care, service to patients, dedication to improving medicine in South Dakota, or service to the SDSMA. 

Please consider nominating physicians and other supporters who are deserving of recognition.   

An individual may work right alongside of you, or serve on a committee with you, or volunteer in your organization or community, or have made a significant impact in the medical profession. 

Help your colleagues get the recognition they deserve and complete a nomination form. Many South Dakota physicians and supporters of the medical community go unrecognized. Nominate them today! Recipients will be announced this spring.

It's easy!
Just submit a nomination statement and, if you wish, supporting materials.

  • Complete your nomination statement (links below), and submit any supporting materials, no later than March 10, 2021.

About the Awards Categories:

Distinguished Service Award: This award is presented by the SDSMA to a physician or layperson who has contributed outstanding service to medicine in South Dakota. Nominate someone.

Community Service Award
: This award is presented by the SDSMA to a physician who has demonstrated exemplary involvement in community affairs in South Dakota. Nominate someone.

COPIC Humanitarian Award: The COPIC Humanitarian Award is presented annually to honor a physician for volunteer medical services and contributions to their community. We specifically look to recognize those individuals who unassumingly volunteer outside the spectrum of their day-to-day lives. The recipient of the award designates a $10,000 donation from COPIC to be provided to a health care-related 501(c)(3) organization in South Dakota. COPIC is committed to helping physicians, providers, and facilities in the communities we serve. Corporate social responsibility is a core value of COPIC, and we are happy to expand our engagement and support of South Dakotans by giving back through the COPIC Humanitarian Award. We’re pleased to collaborate with SDSMA in offering this award. Nominate someone.

Young at Heart Award: This award is presented by the SDSMA to honor a physician who has helped young physicians as a mentor, role model, and leader as they have started their career. This award recognizes a physician who has encouraged young physicians to assume leadership roles, get involved in organized medicine or community projects, or guide them in starting a new practice and survive the day-to-day experiences of practicing medicine. Physicians eligible for this award must be age 40 or above; in practice for at least five years. Nominate someone.

Outstanding Young Physician Award
: This award is presented by the SDSMA to a physician under 40 years of age or within their first eight years of professional practice after residency or fellowship training. The recipient will have shown outstanding achievements in the area of dedication and service to community as well as contributions to the medical society, such as through local, state or national organizations. Nominate someone.

Richard P. Holm, MD, Media Award: This award is presented to recognize outstanding medical and health care reporting, coverage, or promotion in the media. Nominate someone.

Past Award Recipients

For a complete list, contact the SDSMA office

Distinguished Service Award
2020       Daniel J. Heinemann, MD
2019       Timothy J. Soundy, MD; Robert E. Van Demark, Jr., MD
2018 Laura A. Davis-Keppen, MD
2017 Richard P. Holm, MD
2016 John R. Oliphant, MD
2015 Keith A. Hansen, MD
2014 Donald W. Humphreys, MD
2013 Rodney Parry, MD
2012 Stephan D. Schroeder, MD
2011 James R. Reynolds, MD
2010 Lars Aanning, MD
2009 William C. Fuller, MD
2008 John E. Rittmann, MD
2007 Patrick S. McGreevy, MD
2006 Robert R. Raszkowski, MD; Mary S Carpenter, MD
2005 Lucio N. Margallo, II, MD

Community Service Award
2020       Robert L. Allison, MD
2019       Rick Kooima, MD
2018 David A. Shields, MD
2017 Julie T. Raymond, MD
2016 Mark L. Harlow, MD; Patricia A Peters, MD
2015 Gene F. Burrish, MD
2014 Martin J. Christensen, MD
2013 Al Lawrence, MD
2012 Robert McWhirter, MD
2011 Christopher Dietrich, MD
2010 E. Paul Amundson, MD
2009 Lee M. Mabee, MD
2008 Mary Milroy, MD
2007 Walter O. Carlson, MD
2006 Lori A. Strong, MD
2005 Terry Graber, MD

COPIC Humanitarian Award (new in 2020)
2020      Jennifer J. TInguely, MD, MPH

Young at Heart Award

2020       Jerome W. Bentz, MD
2019       Tad Jacobs, DO
2018 Debra Johnston, MD
2017 David P. Munson, MD
2016 David W. Bean, Sr, MD
2015 Thomas J. Huber, MD
2014 Gary L. Timmerman, MD
2013 Wendell W. Hoffman, MD
2012 No award given
2011 Jennifer Olson, MD
2010 Mel Wallinga, MD
2009 Lee Mabee, MD
2008 John Barker, MD
2007 Michael Olson, MD
2006 David W. Bean, MD
2005 Richard Honke, MD

Outstanding Young Physician Award
2020       Michelle D. Schimelpfenig, DO
2019       Laura Hoefert, MD
2018 Michael Huot, MD
2017 Nathan J. Miller, MD
2016 Jennifer J. Tinguely, MD
2015 Benjamin C. Aaker, MD
2014 Shawn D. Van Gerpen, MD
2013 John Berdahl, MD
2012 Jeremy Beireis, MD
2011 Michael M. Johnson, MD
2010 Suzanne D. Reuter, MD
2009 Christopher Dietrich, MD
2008 Allison Wierda Suttle, MD
2007 Joy Falkenburg, MD
2006 Karl J. Blessinger, MD
2005 Rochelle Christensen, MD; Matt N. Bien, MD 

Richard P. Holm, MD, Media Award

2020       Brook M. Eide, MD
2019       Jerome W. Freeman, MD
2018 Kenneth A. Bartholomew, MD
2017 Cara Hamilton, MD
2016 Keith A. Hansen, MD
2015 Stephen G. Eckrich, MD
2014 Richard P. Holm, MD
2013 Wendell W. Hoffman, MD
2012 James Young, MD; Joanna Mueller
2011 Nancy Naeve Brown
2010 Megan Myers
2009 H. Bruce Vogt, MD; Keith Hansen, MD
2008 Brett Lawlor, MD
2007 William Cohen, MD
2006 Marvin Buehner, MD
2005 Joy Falkenburg, MD

If you wish to complete a printed/written nomination, please contact Elizabeth Reiss at 605-336-1965 or ereiss@sdsma.org.

Selection Process

Nominations submitted to the SDSMA office for SDSMA Awards must come from current SDSMA members or a group of members, and will be reviewed for completeness and eligibility. SDSMA staff are not eligible for these awards. The nomination deadline is March 10, 2021. SDSMA Awards nominations will be reviewed by SDSMA staff and the SDSMA Committee on Ethics & Judicial Affairs. The nominations for SDSMA Awards are then presented to the SDSMA Policy Council for a vote in each category. Award recipients will be announced during the Annual Leadership Conference scheduled for June 4. The COPIC Humanitarian Award is reviewed through a separate process overseen by COPIC staff.